Top 10 oldest riders in the Tour de France 2013

sports & entertainment

Despite the world’s biggest fraud in sports, the Tour de France remains one of the most epic sport events of the year. Many riders are trying to reach Paris in the hope that they can finish in the yellow jersey. Typically the oldest riders won’t win le Grande Boucle, but experience is of high importance during this sports classic.

The oldest rider in the peloton is German Jens Voigt, father of 4 and riding his 16th race through France. He could well be the father of the youngest rider, Dutchman Danny van Poppel, aged 19. Firmin Lambot is the oldest winner, having been 36 years, 4 months old when he won the Tour de France in 1922. Of the current generation, former Tour de France winner (2011) Cadel Evans is considered an outsider for the win, but if he manages to stay ahead of Chris Froome and Alberto Contador, he’ll be amongst the oldest riders to win the Tour. But who are the oldest riders in this edition of the Tour? Which team do they represent and when were they born? Check the top 10 oldest riders in the Tour de France 2013!

Top 10 oldest riders in the Tour de France 2013

  1. Jean-Christophe Péraud, France, AG2R – 22/05/1977
  2. Haimar Zubeldia, Spain, Radioshack – 01/04/1977
  3. Cadel Evans, Australia, BMC – 14/02/1977
  4. David Millar, Great Britain, Garmin Sharp – 04/01/1977
  5. Gregory Henderson, New Zealand, Lotto-Belisol – 10/09/1976
  6. Christian Vandevelde, USA, Garmin Sharp – 22/05/1976
  7. Andreas Klöden, Germany, Radioshack – 22/06/1975
  8. Matteo Tossato, Italy, Saxo – 14/05/1974
  9. Stuart O’Grady, Australia, Orica Greenedge – 06/08/1973
  10. Jens Voigt, Germany, Radioshack – 17/09/1971

Suggested reading!
Tour de France 100: A Photographic History of the World’s Greatest Race